Why do I love you?

Today marks our 26th wedding anniversary. I wrote this poem for my wife Stefanie, whom I love even more today than yesterday.

Why do I love you?

I love you because of the gentleness of your heart,
That fills me with warmth even when the cold wind is blowing.
I love the care and tenderness you show to every living thing,
So much so that it makes me smile all the time.
I love the way you open one eye to tell me you’re awake,
So you can sleep some more when I leave.
I love your quick thinking,
That compensates for my slow wit.
I love how you depend on me to keep you safe,
When I’m no braver than you.
I love how you quote me when you think I’m not listening,
Yet take no notice when I initially say it.
I love how we can sit for hours without saying a word,
And finish the other’s sentence when we do.
I love how we know what the other is thinking,
Before a single word is said.
I love how we still hold hands when walking,
Like we did the first time.
Through the hard times,
Though there were many,
Through the easy times,
Though there were few,
And through the difficult times ahead,
My love for you will only get stronger.

4 thoughts on “Why do I love you?

Leave a Reply

