Do I love you because you’re beautiful?

“Do I love you because you’re beautiful,
Or are you beautiful because I love you?” Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II, Cinderella

You are beautiful. Does it matter why I think you’re beautiful? Does it matter what anyone else thinks?

If you love me as much as I love you, neither should matter. What matters most is that I love you, and that you love me.

Am I handsome because you love me, or do you love me because I’m handsome? You love me because I am me regardless of how handsome I am, is this not true?

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. When it comes to you, I’m the beholder, and I see beauty every time I look at you. When it comes to me, you are the beholder, and what you see is the only thing that matters.

When we look at each other, we see with our hearts, and not just with our eyes.

I love you because you are beautiful to me.

You’ve become even more beautiful because I love you.

When I look at you, my heart tells me what I should see. My heart points out that sparkle in your eyes, which appears every time you look at me. My heart points out your hands, which burn my skin wherever they touch. My heart points out your smile, which makes my insides tingle.

You are beautiful because my heart tells me so. I love you because my heart told me so. Anything else is irrelevant.

This quote is part of a song found in Cinderella. Here’s a version of it on Youtube:

Do I Love You Because You’re Beautiful- Paolo Montalban and Brandy

 

Leave a comment